The Hotfix Share

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
 Vista 64 and 4gb of RAM insue, Problems running my vista with 4gb of ram
Democlis
post Jan 23 2008, 12:52 PM
Post #1





Group: Apprentice Hotfixer
Posts: 1
Joined: 23-January 08
Member No.: 43,144



I recently bought a new computer with the following configs:

MB Asus Crosshair (bios 0702)
Proc AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+
2 x GForce 8600 GTS (512mb ddr3/128bits)
HD Seagete 500gb
DVD-RW LG
4x 1gb DDR2 800/PC6400 Corsair XMS2 (CAS 4-4-4-12)

however wen i try to use all four mem my windows vista it gives me a lots of problems, first i couldnt instal the windows with all four of them, i removed all pieces of harddware of my pc and tested i also testes the mem slots on my PC, everithing was fine so i decided to install the vista with 3gb of ram only, it went fine, gave me n0o problem and all the rest, after that i placed the 4rth memory on its sloth and it seems to work fine HOWEVER my USB ports seems to be disable now, i didnt changed any bios config it just the windows that is giving me problems (everithing is nice and smooth with linux) anyone have a solution? i would be pleased to hear one
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Lance
post Jan 23 2008, 01:52 PM
Post #2





Group: Hotfixer
Posts: 84
Joined: 27-April 07
Member No.: 1,509



Hi,
Take a look in these articles:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929605/en-us
http://blogs.msdn.com/oldnewthing/archive/.../14/699521.aspx
http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/system/platf...PAE/pae_os.mspx
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Physical_Address_Extension
Good luck,
L.
Go to the top of the page
 
+
burfadel
post Mar 23 2008, 03:10 PM
Post #3





Group: Hotfixer
Posts: 36
Joined: 23-August 07
Member No.: 4,140



As you are running Vista 64, the normal 3GB limitation isn't an issue. However, PCI remapping is still required and may not be performed properly by some bioses. Have you tried updating your computer bios to the latest version?

Also running 4 memory modules may cause problems on some configurations.
Go to the top of the page
 
+
drizzle
post Mar 23 2008, 08:04 PM
Post #4





Group: Hotfixer
Posts: 48
Joined: 7-October 07
Member No.: 9,920



Hello, this KB article talks about Nvidia chipset and 4gb RAM
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/933433/en-us

and it is included in this cumulative USB hotfix
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/941600/en-us

a pretty new USB hotfix here that may supercede both above KBs
http://thehotfixshare.net/board/index.php?...p;showfile=4484

Another article about Nvidia and 4gb
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/930261/en-us

good luck!
Go to the top of the page
 
+

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th November 2019 - 10:28 PM
All trademarks mentioned on this page are the property of their respective owners
The Hotfix Share is not affiliated with Microsoft
Copyright © 2019 TheHotfixShare.net